I paired my daily journaling with a Bible study plan that I clumsily put together.

Over the years, I’ve read pretty much the same books over and over, particularly books that matched the holidays (Exodus, Mathew/Mark/Luke/John) and commonly quoted ones (1 Corinthians, Proverbs, Psalms, Song of Solomon). Guess what, there are a lot more chapters… 66 actually. I wanted to be sure that I made it a priority to get to those smaller overlooked chapters too.

Also, full disclosure: I have tried reading the whole Bible several times starting from Genesis. Somewhere after Exodus my eyes would cross and I would lose momentum much the same way as a New Years’ Resolution. Don’t even get me started on the Old English versions.  If anyone ever suggested that I take time to read the whole Bible, my rebellious side reared up and I would get incredibly offended that they assumed I had not already.

I’m not a Christian that could be ‘recruited’ by man. I had to develop my relationship with God on my own time and do things my way—the hard way first. This is one of my stubborn natural flaws. (My husband is a very patient man). 

So here I go, into the Word. The best part is I am finding more independence by developing my own experience and familiarity of scripture that often is misquoted to fit social preferences and/or used for attacks. Now if anyone would have put it to me that way, I may have jumped in sooner…

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3:16-17

My plan is to apply Dave Ramsey’s Baby Step 2: Debt Snowball to reading the Word. After a quick consultation with the interwebs, I came across several lists listing the books of the Bible from smallest to largest. There wasn’t a lot of agreement and I find mistakes along the way but it was a start for me.

Here’s a break down if you’d like to get started too:

The Old Testament:

  • LAW: Genesis to Deuteronomy
  • HISTORY: Joshua to Esther
  • POETRY: Job to Song of Songs
  • MAJOR PROFITS: Isaiah to Daniel
  • MINOR PROFITS: Hosea to Malachi

The New Testament:

  • GOSPELS: Matthew to John
  • Acts
  • LETTERS: Romans to Jude
  • Revelations

Shortest Books:

  • Third John
  • Second John
  • Philemon
  • Jude
  • Obadiah
  • Titus
  • Second Thessalonians
  • Haggai
  • Nahum
  • Jonah

Longest Books:

  • Psalms
  • Jeremiah
  • Ezekiel
  • Genesis
  • Isaiah
  • Numbers
  • Exodus
  • Deuteronomy
  • Second Chronicles
  • Luke
6 thoughts on “Being in the Word

    1. My Grandfather on my Dad’s side was a preacher…… When my dad passed , I found a bunch of relics from my Grandfather’s church (Very Antique). They kept minutes on all the members, and there are some funny reasons for being wrote up in there .
      They were very very strict !
      Anyways…. They also printed these little booklet’s , very similar to Almanac’s …….
      That is where I first saw ‘ How to read the Good Book in a year ‘ method .
      Maybe I can find something in there interesting to share ….

      Is Valentine’s considered a religious holiday ? I don’t understand what holidays are ‘man made’ or whatever , and of course, if it is meant to be a spiritual holiday , it is camouflaged with all kinds of distractions , and fictional character’s , usually having absolute zero to do with what was written ……. funny how that works …. and how it works IS written .
      🙂 God Bless !

      Like

Leave a Reply

