Que Sera

I’m finding that God is constantly preparing me for what is to come. I do see His handy work in hindsight and get overwhelmed with feelings of being cared for and loved. He doesn’t always reveal what is around the corner and a lesson that He’s teaching me is to live for today by being present. This is a huge challenge for me since I’ve always planned my next move by living in five-year plans. Ironically, I haven’t had one five-year plan come to fruition. This is not due to failure but unexpected events, opportunities, and directions in life. Now with this new surrendered life, I’m letting myself be open to God’s plan for me and whatever that brings. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34. So now I find myself singing “Que Sera, Sera… whatever will be will be, the future is not ours to see…”

God please give me one person to share your love with, Amen!

I received this text from a friend: I was wondering if you were actually free to meet for a coffee tomorrow afternoon… got something I’m kinda struggling… my moral compass and understanding the mind of a social worker. After some back and forth planning, we met two days later for crepes and coffee. We were unable to meet sooner because her work schedule ran later.

Meanwhile, a random Facebook friend “liked” this post: “5 Indicators of an Evil and Wicked Heart” by Leslie Veronica at Christian Counseling. The post is about discerning the sin we struggle with and a truly wicked heart. I thought, ‘well this is one of those topics that scares people from Christianity’ so of course I had to read it out of curiosity.  It’s clear to me now, God was delaying my coffee date to help me accessorize for what conversation was to come (Ephesians 6:13-17).

When we met, my friend told me her concern of a friend who was planning a wedding with a woman. He was unwilling to be faithful and explained “she knows my lifestyle.” He said things like “I don’t really want to get married, but she wants a wedding.” My friend went on to describe to me situations in which he had pulled his friends into being stuck standing idly by while the wedding planning and invitations went out. He justified his behaviors and “lifestyle.” He created this web of lies and deception that anyone would be confused in discerning what was truth or manipulation. Did his fiancé really know?

From the article I read the day before:

1.     Evil hearts are experts at creating confusion and contention. They twist the facts, mislead, lie, avoid taking responsibility, deny reality, make up stories, and withhold information  (Exodus 2:1; Psalms 5:8; 10:7; 58:3; 109:2-5; 140:2; Proverbs 6:13,14; 6:18,19; 12:13; 16:20; 16:27, 28; 30:14; Job 15:35; Jeremiah 18:18; Nehemiah 6:8; Micah 2:1; Matthew 12:34,35; Acts 6:11-13; 2 Peter 3:16).

2.     Evil hearts are experts at fooling others with their smooth speech and flattering words.   But if you look at the fruit of their lives or the follow through of their words, you will find no real evidence of godly growth or change. It’s all smoke and mirrors (Psalm 50:19; 52:2,3; 57:4, 59:7; 101:7; Proverbs 12:5; 26:23-26; 26:28; Job 20:12; Jeremiah 9:34; 12:6; Matthew 26:59; Acts 6:11-13; Romans 16:13,18; 2 Corinthians 11:13,14; 2 Timothy 3:2-5; 3:13; Titus 1:10,16).

3.     Evil hearts crave and demand control and their highest authority is their own self-reference. They reject feedback, real accountability and make up their own rules to live by.  They use Scripture to their own advantage but ignore and reject passages that might require self-correction and repentance (Romans 2:8; Psalms 10; 36:1-4; 50:16-22; 54:5,6; 73:6-9; Proverbs 21:24; Jude 1:8-16)

4.     Evil hearts play on the sympathies of good-willed people, often trumping the grace card.  They demand mercy but give none themselves. They demand warmth, forgiveness, and intimacy from those they have harmed with no empathy for the pain they have caused and no real intention of making amends or working hard to rebuild broken trust (Proverbs 21:10; 1 Peter 2:16; Jude 1:4).

5.     Evil hearts have no conscience, no remorse.  They do not struggle against sin or evil, they delight in it, all the while masquerading as someone of noble character.  (Proverbs 2:14-15; 10:23; 12:10; 21:27,29 Isaiah 32:6; Romans 1:30; 2 Corinthians 11:13-15).

I didn’t directly tell her this man was ‘evil.’ I don’t think that’s what God had in mind. We did talk through her concerns while this article was fresh on my mind. The situation she was witnessing was sticky and it was unfair from every angle to every person involved. I also shared with her my own experience of being deceived by someone I loved. I said things like “he would never do that” only later to find lies and deception come to light. It’s so absurd looking back on it now. I also worked in family services and was still blindsided in my own.

Clearly God put us together to have a chat and delayed our meeting to present me with some information. I hope that He used me well. I don’t know how my friend will be lead to managing this moral dilemma or what conversations will follow or with whom. It’s also probably not for me to know. For now, I will continue praying for her own strength and discernment and let God take it from there.

One thought on “Coffee, crepes, and conversation

  1. When you mention five year plan – it’s one of those questions I dread at job interviews! You know – what do you think you’ll be doing in five, ten years time? I’m thinking to myself – I’ll just be glad if I can face getting up tomorrow, never mind five years time!! That’s one of the things about living with depression. Little steps. Little steps, sister. Bless your heart – Reuben

    Like

Leave a Reply

