Week One

I’m taking an 8 week journey with Jennie Allen’s Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul. I read her book Restless and I’m looking forward to taking more steps in my faith to see where this path leads. The Anything Project is Jennie’s story of saying the prayer, “God we will do anything, Anything” and what happened next…

1 John 1:5-10

5 This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. 6 If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth. 7 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.

8 If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. 9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 10 If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us.

I read, and re-read 1 John 1:5-10. What is Light? What is Darkness? Who is God? and What does he want from me? Let’s very simply break it apart from scripture.

  • LIGHT is God, truth, fellowship with one another, grace, forgiveness, righteousness, pure
  • DARKNESS is absence of God, lies within ourselves, absence of fellowship/aloneness, sin, unrighteousness; contamination or dirty

Another way I am seeing this is, God is truth, grace, forgiveness, honesty and he wants a relationship with us… an honest open relationship. Doesn’t that sound like Love? That is so frightening, when you think about it. Have you ever put all your sin and shame out on the table for anyone to see? I even hide my sin and faults from myself. There’s nothing like a big fat cup of denial to start your mornings. That doesn’t really work. I’ve tried it and found myself in total isolation and emptiness.

Dear God,

I have tried to live independent of you by making my own rules and justifying my own morals. Even though I’ve always believed you were out there, I didn’t care to walk in a relationship with you. My heart became covered in darkness and I’m sorry. Please continue to come closer and stand with me. I want an open relationship and I’m ready for anything, with You!

In Jesus’s name I pray. Amen.

Ephesians 1

The good news, GOD IS CRAZY ABOUT US! He loves us so much that he gave us Jesus, he gave us the Spirit, he gave us forgiveness and grace, and he gives us an inheritance to His kingdom. He also has some pretty BIG PLANS for us.

…He blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. 4 For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love 5 he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will — 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the one he loves. 7 In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s Grace 8 that he lavished on us…

LAVISHED! God loves us so much he gave his son to shoulder our sins and forgive us. He wants us in his family. There is no cost or price we can pay, because Jesus paid for us. It’s free. He loves us, just because.

11 In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, 12 in order that we, who were the first to put our hope in Christ, my be for the praise of his glory.

Something is about to happen… I’m ready for his ANYTHING.

2 thoughts on “My Anything Project, Week One

Leave a Reply

