Matthew 19:16-30

FullSizeRender 6If you want to be perfect, go and sell your possessions and give them to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come follow me.” Jesus wants us to take care of the poor, to sacrifice for others, and to follow Him. Jesus is asking us to be willing to give up what we hold closest to our hearts: the things of this world that holds no true value. For the young man in Matthew 19:16-30, this was his possessions. Jesus simply wants us to love Him first and to serve Him above all else.

Dear Heavenly Father, what is in my heart that I put before you? Please show me and make it clear so I can better serve.

There is only One that is good” and it’s not us. It’s not good enough to follow the commandments. He actually wants more from us. He want perfection, sacrifice, and surrender. Jennie Allen emphasizes, “the impossible.” As Jesus explains, With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.

In week two of the Anything Projectwe are asked to look at what we are afraid of losing the most in our identities. What comforts? What successes? What approvals? and What acceptances? We are asked to imagine if these things were gone.

I am there. The things I defined my identity with are gone. Prior to 2014, my identity was in my career. I worked in an altruistic field that took all my attention and heart above ALL else in my life. This made sense to me because I was working for the poor, for the broken, for the hurting. I believed my intentions were righteous and I even said that “my work was my religion.” When reading Matthew 19:29, something struck me. In the mist of Jesus saying to give up all possessions including our homes, families, friends, and career, He ask to do so for my sake…” The result of my identity in a career over my identity in Christ was a broken marriage and burnout. I fell and I fell pretty hard. (My Testimony).

Thank you for Your grace and forgiveness through the Son. Thank you for showing me grace in your love through my husband. I pray you continue to be central to our marriage.

I surrendered and grew in my relationship with Christ. I remarried to an amazing man who loves God first. I left my job for a calling with no income. Together we moved 2,000 miles and are taking faith steps. We don’t know what’s next but it could be anything.

God, we will do anything, Anything. in Jesus’s name. Amen.

One thought on “My Anything Project, Week Two

  1. Beautiful sister. I really like your ‘theme’ – has a great quality to it. Sometimes when Jesus asks us to do something it can be really costly. But equally sometimes, it’s the opposite. I’ve just finished a post called ‘A cup of kindness” and I got the idea from the passage when Jesus says -if you give even a cup of water in my name, you will be rewarded. I mean – we all have a cup of water. Don’t we? Be blessed – Reuben

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

