Dear Heavenly Father, Please reveal yourself and show me what you want for me.

Giving Anything to God is a scary ask. Jennie is right, it’s terrifying. It’s easy to say “I’ll give up anything and take up my cross to follow Jesus.” Its easy to say “sure, if God were to ask me to… I would…” but then there’s the DO.

In Week Three of the Anything Project, the reader is asked to look at Paul’s understanding of his role by breaking apart Paul’s writings in 2 Corinthians 4:1-18. Paul is clearly living His Anything and has abandoned his life to not only follow Jesus but to share Him with the world. Paul is a servant to Jesus, his purpose is made clear, and sets forward to share the truth with the world. Although Paul is blessed in spirit and truth, he suffers tremendously (2 Corinthians 4:8-12).

Are we being called to suffer too for His glory? What keeps us from surrendering? There is a real enemy, ready to distract us from God’s love and plan for us. I can see the enemy clearly and it’s usually through my relationships with others. My rebellious spirit actually gets excited when the enemy comes to attack because it gives me a glimpse that I’m on the right track for God. Let me share this example…

Recently I came across an article shared by Huffington Post, published by Tom McKay, “7 Simple Tips for a Successful Fundamentalist Christian Marriage, Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 8.31.57 PMAccording to the Bible.” In McKay’s attempt to challenge what the Bible actually says about marriage, he missed some key verses. He simply left out the verses that refer to the partnership and equality and sacrifices in marriage by both partners. Rather than becoming offensive, I just leaned into the Word and simply added a couple comments. I did not become defensive but instead quoted the missing scripture. I generally stay away from commenting so publicly but I felt good about this. The very next day my loving marriage became under attack. The enemy told my husband lies that he was unloved and unappreciated. The enemy tried to settle in between us with insecurities, exhaustion, and distractions. I got excited! It took a moment for my husband to come around and see what I was seeing. I know that God had big plans for us and when the enemy descends, I see it even more clearly.

God, we will do anything, Anything! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

