John 17

Jesus Prays to Be Glorified, Prays for His Disciples, and Prays for All Believers

Each week, Jennie encourages us to ask “God who are you?” and “What do you want from me?” This week’s scripture reference answered my question very simply. God is Jesus, they are One. He wants to be One with us. In Jesus’s prayer, He describes the Father as the only true God who is Holy. Our God has power in His name, is a protector and truth in His word. He also loves Jesus, who loves Him, and together loves us. Before we knew Him, He knew us just as the Father knew Jesus. Jesus is advocating with the Father for us in this prayer!

This is pretty intense!

I have two big hopes that initially come to mind. As I mentioned in previous weeks, my first hope is (was?) for children and has been for quiet a long time; as far back as I can remember. I have been denied children of my own, repeatedly. My second hope is to work to make a difference in teens and young adults lives by loving and teaching them how to be successful adults in this tough world. Over the last year, my heart has heavily been called specifically to sex trafficking and exploitation. Female teens and young adults are at greatest risk but that doesn’t mean males are safe from exploitation. Is God calling me to hope in my second?

Continually, as I move through the Anything Project, it seems that my first hope is my sacrifice so that I can better serve God by serving others. Giving up this dream opens me up to God’s calling (not my own). It’s difficult to imagine having both dreams. Without my own children, I am more flexible. I have no immediate need to stabilize and settle into one place, job, tradition. I am open to going anywhere God leads/wants me. Having no children gives me the flexibility to serve any time, anywhere, and any hour.

Since moving to New Orleans three months ago, I’ve been volunteering in a homeless shelter for teens and young adults. Last week, I was offered the opportunity to work overnights per diem.

Jesus’s prayer to the Father for me…

“I have revealed you to Erica, whom you gave me out of the world. She was yours; you gave her to me and she has obeyed your word. Now Erica knows that everything you have given me comes from you. For I gave her the words you gave me and she accepted them. Erica knew with certainty that I came from you, and she believes that you sent me. I pray for Erica. I am not praying for the world, but for Erica whom you have given me, for she is yours. Erica is yours and she is mine. And glory has come to me through her. I will remain in the world no longer, but Erica is still in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect her by the power of your name, the name you gave me, so that Erica may be one as we are one. While I was with her, I protected Erica and kept her safe by that name you gave me. None has been lost, except the one doomed to destruction so that scripture would be fulfilled.

But now I am coming to you, and these things I speak in the world, that Erica may have my joy fulfilled in herself. I have given Erica your word, and the world has hated her because she is not of the world, just as I am not of the world. I do not ask that you take Erica out of this world, but that you keep her from the evil one. Erica is not of this world, just as I am not of this world. Sanctify Erica in the truth; your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, so I have sent Erica into the world. And for Erica’s sake I consecrate myself, that she also may be sanctified in the truth.”

My prayer…

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for sending your son Jesus so that I may have a relationship with you! Forgive me when I try to take control, you are well aware of my control issues and bossy nature. I understand that your plans for me are bigger than I can comprehend and that our life here is short. Thank you for sending me to New Orleans and leading me to the opportunity to serve homeless youth. I will do anything, Anything. In Jesus’s name. Amen.

FullSizeRender 11
The Mississippi River in New Orleans

Leave a Reply

