IMG_3629I’m always in awe how God speaks to me. He seems to give me answers to questions I haven’t asked yet. For example, whenever there is a controversy in the news (which let’s face it, is often), somehow it aligns to either where I am in my Bible, a recent sermon, or in study that I am doing. Currently for my travels to Greece, I brought the C.S. Lewis collection with me and I’ve started with Mere Christianity.

Meanwhile, in Kentucky, Kim Davis is making a mockery out of Christians. Yet again, another “Christian” is standing up for “Christianity” through discrimination and hate. I take offense that she attempts to speak for me, as a Christian. I hope you can see how she lacks the fruit of the spirit: charity, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, chastity. It seems clear to me that she is not being led by the Spirit, but she is being led. Unfortunately, non-believers will have difficulty to discern and likely be further wedged away from a relationship with Christ. I wonder how this misguided county clerk would feel knowing that Satan is using her as a puppet against Christ.

IMG_3625So back to C.S. Lewis, I’m a first time reader of his. He is well renown for his Christian writings and Chronicles of Narnia. That was the extent to my knowledge of him before I purchased the box set. As I read Mere Christianity, I realize he was an atheist who came to Christ. He articulates the Christian stance so well and uses many metaphors to help makes points clear. That sounds like another familiar teacher, who I love very much. Today, as I lay in the sun I came across an interesting take on Ms. Davis and her current affairs (pun, very much intended).

My own view is that the Churches should frankly recognise that the majority of the British people are not Christians, and therefore, cannot be expected to live Christian lives. There ought to be two distinct kinds of marriages: one governed by the State with rules enforced on all citizens, the other governed by the Church with rules enforced by her on her own members. The distinction ought to be quite sharp, so that man knows which couples are married in the Christian sense and which are not.” C.S. Lewis in Mere Christianity

IMG_3631

Leave a Reply

