Dear Friends,

Peppermint MochaI’m starting to get excited about the upcoming holidays! I’m looking forward to eating myself into a stupor for Thanksgiving while trying to remember all the ways I’m thankful. I’m looking forward to the smells of cinnamon and pine in the air. I’m looking forward to glitter and sparkle. I’m looking forward to that awful Christmas music that we all love and hate. (You know you sing along). I’m also looking forward to my Peppermint Mocha from Starbucks.

By the way, this doesn’t make me more or less Christian. Being a Christian is really quiet simple. It means that I believe that Jesus Christ was the son of God, who came to provide you and me with the opportunity to be forgiven for our mistakes, skeletons, shames, and in turn join His family. There are four great books you can read if you are curious about learning more: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. You may hear these books collectively called The Gospels, basically meaning “the good news!”

Lately I have seen numerous amounts of articles floating around the web making strong suggestions that Christians are outraged about their holiday cup design. I’m really quiet confused because I am involved in a Christian community and have many family members who are also Christians. I don’t know a single Christian out there that has made a fuss about the holiday cup. I’m really curious who exactly sparked this controversy because in truth, it’s rather silly. As a Christian, I am not offended by Starbuck’s cups but I am offended that someone started a rumor that I would be. That is rude and it always feels icky to have a conversation to say “I”m not that kind of Christian.”

I got to thinking what does that mean? That kind of Christian. So I wanted to share with you that as a Christian I am just like you in the sense my life can get messy, sometimes I say the wrong things, and often make the same mistakes. Unfortunately there are still a lot of people who claim to be Christian, who in their hearts and actions, they are not. I’m not going to judge who is a ‘better or worse’ Christian because I believe that is a trap.

Fruits of the SpiritI am hoping that you will understand that when someone claiming to be of the Christian faith hurts you, they may not exactly be of that faith or they’re still early in their journey. If someone has accepted Jesus in their hearts and are filled with His spirit they show what we call “Fruits of the Spirit.” That is simply joy, peace, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. (Gal 5:22-23).

I had a conversation with another friend recently inviting them to join me at church for a special event. He said, “Churches don’t like people like me… they don’t want me there.” My heart shattered into pieces for him and was angered toward the people who failed to show him Jesus’s love. I simply told him “the church is a body of people who believe. My husband and I are part of the church. We love you and want you there.”

My friend, I love you too. If you have any questions let me know. I will be the first to tell you I don’t have all the answers but we can find them together. Let’s have a coffee and chat.

Happy Holidays!

With grace & peace,

Erica

Leave a Reply

