Marriage Devotional: Traveling Spouse

Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the first fruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing and your vats will brim over with new wine. Proverbs 3:9-10

And may the Lord our God show us his approval and make our efforts successful. Yes, make our efforts successful! Psalm 90:17

And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God. Ecclesiastes 3:13

My husband and I met in church small groups. One of those groups was Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University (FPU). I came to FPU with significant financial baggage but experienced how God’s Word is a life guide. When first learning how to budget it was difficult to see if it was even possible to tithe. I sought guidance in the Word. My heart was convicted and I started tithing the full 10% of my paycheck before calculating my budget; giving God my first fruits. My heart began overflowing with love from the Father as I learned to be more financially disciplined.

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for first blessing us with income so that we may return the first portion to You for the the Glory of Your Kingdom. Our hope is that our offering is multiplied and blessed for spreading the gospel and loving on our community. If there are other ways you want us to give, financially or through service, I pray you reveal those ways to us and provide a path. Dear Lord, I also pray that you strengthen the faith of people who fear tithing and fear taking this obedient faith step. In joy we give to You and are so thankful to be able to see the fruits of our giving. In Jesus’s name we celebrate and pray, AMEN!

Read more about my climb out of debt in “My Testimony: Breaking Financial Chains (in progress)

Leave a Reply

