Marriage Devotional: Traveling Spouse

Let love and faithfulness never leave you;
    bind them around your neck,
    write them on the tablet of your heart.
Then you will win favor and a good name
    in the sight of God and man.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight.
Proverbs 3:3-6

I was reminded yesterday of a time that I wasn’t getting my way when I was trying to take some time to be still with God. So many distractions were thrown at me that it was pretty obvious I wasn’t where I was supposed to be. All I could do is laugh, look up, and ask “What are you trying to tell me here?”

Even when we think we are serving God’s purpose, He may actually have other intentions for us. On the flip side, maybe we feel that we’re not in His purpose when we are busy with work; in an industry that doesn’t seem to focus on Him or in occupations supporting worldly goals. There are many times my husband and I have asked, “what are we doing/not doing here?” when it comes to our occupations. We are trying to lean on our own understanding instead of submitting to His plan. It could be as simple as being a light in a dark place.

Dear Heavenly Father, 

Thank you for Your love and faithfulness. Thank you for blessing our marriage with the opportunities that you give us to be a light. Please continue to guide us. We trust you and ask that you illuminate our path to fulfill Your plans. Today I also pray for one person to share your love with and the boldness of the spirit to do so. In praise of Jesus, AMEN!

 

Leave a Reply

