Marriage Devotional: Traveling Spouse

My flesh and my heart may fail,
    but God is the strength of my heart
    and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

“For a brief moment I abandoned you,
    but with deep compassion I will bring you back.
In a surge of anger
    I hid my face from you for a moment,
but with everlasting kindness
    I will have compassion on you,”
    says the Lord your Redeemer. Isaiah 54:7-8

At the beginning and end of the day, we are only human. Broken, sinful, faulty humans and God loves us anyway. He loves us with “everlasting kindness” and “compassion!” Through Him we have strength as long as we lean on Him. However when we turn away from God, He will let us go. In His love, He lets us make our mistakes and learn that only through Him we can succeed.

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for loving us so deeply! I pray that in our marriage you teach us how to love each other with the same kindness and compassion that You love us. Give us the strength and courage to lean to you, especially when my spouse and I are separated from each other for a time and at a distance. Forgive us when our hearts fail You and each other. Thank you for all your lessons even when difficult and especially thank you for your Grace through Jesus! In His name, AMEN!

 

Leave a Reply

