FullSizeRender 8I wrote an old fashioned check, stuffed it into an envelope with a forever stamp, and sent it off to the bank. My car is now paid off! 

You can read about the beginning of my journey to climb out of debt in My Testimony: Breaking financial chains (in progress). To summarize I was in over $72,000.00 in debt before my husband and I met and married. I had been aggressively tackling those bills. I cut the debts down by 30% over 15 months and had only 1 credit card left. After my final credit card payment, we pressed pause on Baby Step 2 (the debt snowball).

A year ago I left my job and moved to New Orleans for new opportunities. My husband is self-employed and his work is pretty sporadic with a lot of travel. I had spent the last year volunteering for nonprofits and networking. We lived on a pretty strict monthly budget that we put together and reviewed each month on Every Dollar. Instead of aggressively paying down my debts, we focused on having a healthy savings (Baby Step 3) in case a time came where he wasn’t able to work between projects. Now that I’ve accepted a full time position and we are both working, we pressed “GO!” on Baby Step 2. I wrote a huge check! Bye-bye, car note. Next and final stop… Student loans!

Dear Heavenly Father,
Thank you so much for your provisions! Thank you so much for your discipline in teaching us how to work together, how to manage money, and how to be sacrificial. You have blessed us all along the way!! I pray that you continue to show us favor and that you use us to bless others as well. Faith and money can be such an awkward topic in mixed company. I pray you give us the boldness and the right words to use to share  with others. I also pray for the reader of this page, that you bless them with courage and wisdom to tackle any financial decisions that are on them now and in their future.
I ask all of this in the name of your son, Jesus. Amen

Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. 10 If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble. Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

P.S. With the help of my husband, my teammate, we’ve paid off over 60% and now only have $28,650.61 in student loans. Our plan: to continue to live off 1 income and pay the debt off with the other.

One thought on “Breaking Financial Chains (New Update)

Leave a Reply

